THE FLU

Hi everyone!  Hopefully you all had a good New Year.  I took a little break from the blog around that time, I apologise for that.  I will hopefully – fingers crossed – get back into weekly blogging.

I first of all just want to say that everything I mention, is my own opinion and it worked for me BUT,there is a chance it might not work for you.


Symptoms

Before I had a horrendous cold, I had a few days of “pre flu symptoms” which I knew from there, I was about to get a REALLY bad cold.  Last Monday I had a tickly throat which stayed around until Wednesday when it formed into a nasty sounding cough.  Come Friday, my nose was all runny and stuffy!  I had one day (which was Saturday) when the flu took over.  I stayed in bed the whole day because I physically couldn’t do anything 😦  My head was aching I was that ill and I was starting to appreciate being able to breath properly because I was struggling SO much.  I actually woke one night with tears running down my face I was just that ill!


Make sure to use…

  1. Make sure you pick yourself up some tissues with “smoothing balm” on them.  I’ve inserted a picture of the exact tissues I bought in my local ASDA for £1.50 for 8 packets.  They help keep your nose moisturised as you are wiping all the oils off your nose when blowing it which will help reduce dry skin and redness.
  2. Buy yourself something to keep you warm.  It’s important to be warm but not warm from dry heat.  I read that dry heat isn’t good for your nose when you have the flu so turn your heating off and layer yourself.  I picked up a VERY cosy dressing gown (house coat) from £8 from Matalan.img_7365

Make sure to keep…

  1. To help you feel a little better and not let the flu take over, make sure to keep active.  Getting up and going out to do something really helped fight this flu a little more.  I felt 15% better actually getting up to go do something rather than lay at home feeling sorry for myself.
  2. Drink a little more than what your daily water intake is.  I was always told to keep my fluids and vitamins up when ill.  I took vitamin tablets and drank a little more than my daily water intake and I feel it helped flush out all the bad germs within.

To help breath through your nose…

  1.  It goes without saying, blow your nose EVERY TIME you need to clear it.  NEVER sniff!  It will help get rid of your cold quicker.
  2. Steam your nostrils.     I HIGHLY recommend steaming your nostrils!  I did this a few times whenever I felt as if my nostrils needed cleared because they were so stuffy and the tissue wasn’t unblocking them.  All I did was get a bowl (a big mixing bowl) and added a little boiling water from the kettle.  I proceeded to put a towel over my head to help keep the steam in and placed my face over the bowl.  I breathed in through my nose and out as much as I could before I had to lift my head to breath as I really couldn’t through my nose.

 Afterwards…

  1. Clean.  Clean like crazy!  Wash all bedding, floors and anything you have touched.  Wash away all the bad germs from around your house so no one else catches it.
  2. Personally, afterwards, I experienced a dry sore nose with dry lips as well.  I used Vaseline.  Original Vaseline for my nose and Vaseline with Aloe Vera in it for the lips.  Both which helped tremendously! img_7366

Hopefully none of you will need any of these tips and advice I’ve put in this blog because having that cold was horrid.  If you do have the flu, try some of the things I did above.  My cold only lasted a weekend.  Get well soon to those of you who do have the flu and I’ll see you (hopefully next Thursday) for a new blog post.

Lucy xX

 

 

Leave a Reply

